Skip to content

Board Members

EIERA Board members are appointed by the governor and serve three year terms. All members must be residents of the State of Missouri and typically have backgrounds in finance, business, or environmental issue.

Current EIERA Board members are listed below. You may contact one or all of the board members through the EIERA.

Photo of Andy Dalton
Andy Dalton, Springfield (Democrat)
Andy Dalton is a retired attorney now associated as counsel with the Springfield law firm of Haden, Coward and Bullock. He has served as a member and chairman of the Missouri Conservation Commission, Missouri Savings and Loan Commission and on a number of non-profit organizations and foundations. Andy retired from City Utilities of Springfield as general counsel, where he had oversight responsibilities for environmental issues for the municipal utility, in 2007.
Picture of LaRee DeFreece
LaRee DeFreece, Kirkwood (Democrat)
In addition to serving as a board member for the Environmental Improvement and Energy Resource Authority of Missouri, LaRee also serves as a fellow for the Saint Louis University Center for Sustainability. Prior to her involvement with issues of environmental, economic and social justice, she practiced law, focusing on corporate governance and risk management in the context of mergers and acquisitions and regulatory compliance. In 2006, LaRee left the practice of law and began teaching classes and executive seminars addressing carbon trading, operational efficiency in multinational corporate real estate portfolios, organizational strategy among intra-corporate departments and voluntary reporting frameworks. In 2008, she developed and led the sustainability consulting practice for HOK, an international architectural firm, as an adjunct service for its many multinational corporate clients. LaRee received her J.D. from Washington University in St. Louis.
Photo of Deron Cherry
Deron Cherry, Kansas City (Republican)
Deron Cherry is a Kansas City businessman and former NFL star. Deron is president of United Beverage Company, an Anheuser-Busch distributor in Kansas City. He also currently serves as a commissioner for the Jackson County Sports Authority and was a minority owner for the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars football team. A six-time All-Pro safety, Deron is considered one of the best players in Kansas City Chiefs history. He was named to the All NFL Decade Team in the 1980s and is a member of the Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame. Known for his bone-jarring tackles, his 50 career interceptions rank third in club history. In 1988, he received the NFL Players Association’s highest honor, The Byron White Humanitarian Award, for service to his team, community and country. Deron graduated from Rutgers University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. He is the founder of Score 1 for Health, a program that provides health screenings for more than 13,000 children in the Kansas City metropolitan area. He has also served as a spokesperson and fundraiser for several non-profit organizations. Previously, Deron served as co-chairman of Kansas City’s Jazz District Redevelopment Corporation and on the Kansas City Liquor Advisory Committee.
Photo of Ryan DoyleRyan Doyle, Lee’s Summit (Republican)
Ryan Doyle, P.E., has been employed by ATK at the Lake City Army Ammunition Plant since 2005. Ryan currently serves as a senior engineering manager of project managers. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering from the University of Kansas and a Master of Science degree in industrial hygiene from the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg. He and his wife along with their two children reside in Lee’s Summit.

Interested in becoming an EIERA board member?

We currently have a vacancy on the EIERA Board. Our board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for a three-year term. You must be a resident of Missouri.

If you’d like to learn more about EIERA or serving as a board member, please call Director Karen Massey at 573-751-4919 or e-mail your resume and contact information to

Additional information and an online application are available at